Hey y’all. The first chapter of tomorrow’s reading from New Heritage (Kalay et al.) is largely an interpretation of Walter Benjamin’s essay “The Work of Art in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction.” If you took a media or film studies course in college, someone probably already made you read it, but if you didn’t, or you don’t remember it, or you’re curious, I have a PDF of the essay which I’m going to add to this post. If you don’t get a chance to read it, that’s OK–the chapter stands on its own without the source essay.

I found the essay on line at, of course, Marxists.org. I think, though I can’t be positive, that this is the 1968 Harry Zohn translation that our reading references. I’m quite sure that it’s a copyright violation to post it, and equally sure that Walter Benjamin would have approved.

I was shocked–shocked!–to discover that my spell checker does not know the word “proletarianization.”

